掌控ISEE、SSAT和托福(适用于留学生)

ISEE、SSAT和托福考试技能

我们应该这样理解,学习如何应考是一个缓慢而渐进的过程。它涉及到提高你的阅读能力、数学技能、词汇技能和分析推理能力。虽然可以教授如何应考,但基础技能越扎实越深厚,这个过程就更容易、更快且更有效。首先需要确定你最需要的领域(或相对的薄弱环节),并对此制定一套学习计划,然后再努力实施这套计划,提高这些领域。这里有很多预评估和相关的考试强化学习计划,而且通过NC全球也可以看到。在本网站的“备考”部分可以找到更多信息。

参加一次、二次还是三次入学考试

ISEE和SSAT考试的热门日期是10月、11月、12月和1月。检查你附近的注册和考试日期。至少提前一个月注册,因为热门日期和地点的考试很容易达到饱和。虽然你可以在任何时间并可多次参加SSAT考试,但在每三个测试窗口期期间:8月至11月;12月至3月;4月至7月,你只能参加一次考试,而且12个月内最多只能参加三次。你可以完全控制将哪次分数发送给学校,所以最好的策略是提前和经常参加考试。你每年可以参加一次SSAT和ISEE的弹性考试(私人机构)。一些学生认为私人机构的环境看起来没有大型学校的考试环境那么吓人。
ISEE、SSAT和托福考试论文

SSAT和ISEE都要求写一篇书面论文,而托福有一个完整的写作部分。虽然你的论文不会被正式评分,但招生官员会仔细阅读你的文章。这篇文章是招生官员了解你的个性、敏感性、社会意识和成熟度的一个机会。

模拟试题可以买到,在下列网站上可以看到一些真题:

ISEE、SSAT和托福的词汇技能

强大的词汇量不仅能帮助你在ISEE和SSAT考试中获得更高分数,还能帮助你获得更高的成绩,使你更健谈并增大面试成功的可能性。你可以通过对基本词源的理解和词组来提高你的词汇量。特别是,了解前缀和词根、口语词(people words)和双义词非常有用。ISEE、SSAT和托福的成功在很大程度上取决于是否拥有较强的词汇技能。

ISEE、SSAT和托福的阅读技巧

较强的阅读能力使你能更有效高效地处理信息。快速而准确的阅读会使所学习的一切变得更容易也能学的更好。遇到不同类型的书面材料时,多留意一下。一篇文学作品与事实报道呈现信息的方式是不同的。通过阅读各种各样的短文来提高你对书面材料的理解,然后再自问自答。考试的具体阅读策略可以通过阅读商业性学生手册学习或与私人导师一起学习。NC全球可为ISEE、SSAT和托福提供导师。

ISEE和SSAT的数学技能

要想在学校和考试中取得优异成绩,就需要有很强的数学能力。对于SSAT和ISEE,最重要的三项数学技能是:1)建立和求解方程的能力;2)使用策略更容易和快速地解决问题;3)将文字题转化为可操作方程的能力。和所有科目一样,找出相对薄弱的领域并制定计划加强这些领域是提高数学技能最重要的一步。

我们的辅导方案与计划

50关键点学习方案

大学升学

私立学校录取

各年级辅导方案

备考与辅导

国际留学生

Master the ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL (for International applicants)

Test-Taking Skills for ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL

Done correctly, studying for tests is a slow and gradual process. It involves enhancing your reading skills, math skills, vocabulary skills, and analytical reasoning skills. While test taking can be taught, having a deeper skill base can make the process easier, faster, and more effective. Begin by determining your areas of greatest need (or relative weakness) and commit to a process that will help you improve in these areas. Many pre-assessments and associated test-enhancing study plans are available, including through NC Global. Find more information in the Test Prep section of this website.

Take Admission Tests One, Two, or Three Times

Popular dates for the ISEE and SSAT are in October, November, December, and January. Check for registration and test dates near you. Sign up at least a month in advance, as popular dates and locations can reach capacity. While you can take the SSAT whenever and as many times as you wish, you may take the ISEE only once during each of the three testing windows: August – November; December – March; and April – July, up to a maximum of three times in a 12-month admission cycle. You have full control over the scores that are sent to schools, so the best strategy is to take tests early and often. You may take one Flex Test (private administration) per year for both the SSAT and ISEE. Some students find the private setting less intimidating than large school settings.

The Test Essay for ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL

Both the SSAT and ISEE require a written essay, and the TOEFL has an entire writing section. While your essay will not be formally graded, it will be read with great scrutiny by admissions officials. The essay is your opportunity to give admissions officials insights into your personality, sensitivity, social awareness, and maturity.

Practice tests and questions are available commercially and some real questions are available at

Vocabulary Skills for ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL

Strong vocabulary skills will not only help you earn higher test scores on ISEE and SSAT, they will also help you earn higher grades and make you a better conversationalist and interviewee. You can boost your vocabulary through an understanding of basic etymology and through word groupings. In particular, it is very useful to know prefixes and roots, people words, and double-meaning words. ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL success depend heavily on having strong vocabulary skills.

Reading Skills for ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL

Strong reading skills allow you to process information more effectively and efficiently. Fast and accurate reading makes everything else about learning better and easier. Focus on the different types of written material as you encounter them. A literature passage does not present information in the same way as does a factual passage. Enhance your comprehension of written materials by reading a wide variety of passages, then by asking yourself questions and answering them. Specific reading strategies for tests can be learned by reading commercial student manuals or by working with a private tutor. NC Global has tutors available for ISEE, SSAT, and TOEFL.

Math Skills for ISEE and SSAT

Strong math skills are needed in order to excel in school and on tests. On SSAT and ISEE, the three most important math skills are 1) the ability to set up and solve equations, 2) using strategies to solve questions more easily and quickly, 3) the ability to translate word problems into actionable equations. As with all subjects, identifying areas of relative weakness and creating a plan to strengthen these areas is the most important step in improving math skills.

A PROACTIVE PLAN FOR YOUR CHILD'S FUTURE

THE 50-POINT PLAN

COLLEGE ADMISSIONS

PRIVATE SCHOOL ADMISSION

GRADE-BASED PLANS

TEST PREP & TUTORING

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS