你给别人留下第一印象的机会只有一次

一名被哈佛和麻省理工录取的学生被芝加哥大学和斯坦福大学拒绝录取的可能性有多大?一名学生的未加权平均绩点为3.9,SAT为1550分,而且AP考试的成绩为六个5,那么这名学生被所有八所常春藤盟校拒绝的可能有多大?一个托福分数超过100的学生怎么会被卡尔顿大学和史密斯学院拒绝,却被哈佛大学录取呢?

答案是大学录取很像魔方,正确地旋转所有的盘面,你就能成功穿越数字、考试、课外活动、推荐、面试、兴趣展示、奖学金和论文的海洋。但是,一个错误的移动就会损害到你的机会。大学录取是一门需要战略、推理证明和系统研究方法的科学

总之,进入大学的决定因素有200多种。NC全球从这200多种因素中挑选出你个人的50个因素,而它们将增加你成功的可能性。有了自己专属的50关键点学习方案,你所要做的就是遵循你个人的成功路线图。至于魔方,我们也可以教你如何掌握它!

今天就与我们联系,开启您的初步咨询。

通用申请系统

在美国,绝大多数申请大学的学生使用的都是通用申请系统(Common Application,又称Common App),它是一个大学申请整合者,代表着美国700多所高校和其他国家的一些学校。另外两个申请程序Coalition Application与 Universal Application也同样有用,只是没有那么广泛的使用度或认可度。

通用申请系统的基本要素

从表面上看,通用申请系统是一个门户网站,你可以在其中输入信息和文章,然后它们将被发送到您所申请的在该网站上注册的所有高校。所发送的信息汇集了你的个人资料,以及有关你的家庭、学校、课程、教育、考试、活动、表现(包括视频)、作品集的信息及其他信息(如有)。它还包括你的经济资助状况、推荐信、个人陈述和具体学校的写作任务,还可能包括或不包括附加文章。如果你的高中订阅了Naviance,那么教师和顾问的推荐信,以及你的成绩单可直接发送到通用申请系统中。否则,你就必须手动添加你的成绩,并处理老师和顾问的推荐信。通用申请系统中的某些部分要严格按照规定填写,而有一些则需要输入一些具有变通性的关键信息,而所有这些都是为了讲述一个有关申请人的连贯且有说服力的故事。

 

通用申请系统组成部分

  • GPA
  • 成绩单
  • 具体大学信息
  • 补充短文/问题
  • 助学金
  • 班级排名
  • 考试成绩与日期
  • 申请截止日期
  • 作品集/视频
  • 奖学金
  • 课程
  • 推荐信
  • 活动
  • 个人信息
  • 申请界面
  • 年级
  • 学术荣誉
  • 个人陈述
  • 家庭情况
  • 其他信息

 

通用申请系统的其他部分

虽然通用申请系统确实收集客观数据,但在NC全球专家手中,这些数据就成为了推销大学申请人的销售工具。这是因为通用申请系统的作用远远不止于人们所看到的!除了来自面试官的信息以及从其他来源收集到的数据,大学依靠通用申请系统向其招生委员会提供所需的信息,以便对未来的班级做出恰当决定。你的通用申请系统中的信息是如何构造、详细说明和描述的,可能成为如何看待你以及是否录取你的决定因素。

未在通用申请系统上的高校

一些著名院校,如麻省理工学院、乔治敦大学、加利福尼亚大学(全部九个校区)、宾州大学、罗格斯大学和弗吉尼亚理工大学都不使用通用申请系统。上述每所高校都使用自己的申请系统。比如加利福尼亚大学,一个单一的申请系统用于申请加州大学系统中的任何或所有九个校区。

上述大学的申请系统在本质上与通用申请系统没什么不同,只不过它们问的问题往往更具体,与具体院校更加贴近。

 

我们的辅导方案与计划

50关键点学习方案

大学升学

私立学校录取

各年级辅导方案

备考与辅导

国际留学生

You Only Get One Chance to Make a First Impression

How is it possible that a student could be accepted at Harvard and MIT, and rejected by the University of Chicago and Stanford? How could it be that a student with a 3.9 unweighted GPA, 1550 SAT, and six 5’s on the AP exams is rejected by all eight Ivy League colleges? How could a student with a TOEFL score just over 100 get rejected by Carlton and Smith, but accepted by Harvard?

The answer is that college admissions is a lot like a Rubik’s cube; spin all the dials correctly and you can successfully navigate through the ocean of numbers, tests, extracurricular activities, recommendations, interviews, demonstrated interest factors, scholarships, and essays. But then again, one wrong move can hurt your chances. College admission is a science that requires a strategic, proven, and systematic approach.

In all, there are more than 200 factors that go into colleges’ decisions. From those 200, NC Global pulls out your personal 50 that will increase your likelihood of success. With your own personal 50-Point Plan for college admission, all you have to do is follow your individual roadmap to success. And as for that Rubik’s cube, we can show you how to master that as well!

Contact us today to set up your initial consultation.

The Common Application

The vast majority of students applying to college in America use the Common Application (more commonly known as the Common App) which is a college application aggregator representing more than 700 colleges and universities across America and a selection of colleges in other countries. Two other application aggregators, the Coalition Application and the Universal Application, are equally useful though not as widely used or accepted.

Common App Basics

On its surface, the Common App is a web portal into which you enter information and essays that are then sent to all Common App member colleges to which you are applying. It aggregates your biographical information, as well as information about your family, your school, your courses, your education, your testing, your activities, your performances (including videos), your portfolio, and your additional information, if any. It also aggregates your financial aid status, recommendations, personal essay, and school- specific writing tasks that may or may not include additional essays. If your high school subscribes to Naviance, then teacher and counselor recommendations, and your transcript, are sent directly to the Common App. Otherwise, you will have to add your grades and manage your teacher and counselor recommendations manually. Some Common App sections are strictly by the numbers while others require skillful entry of critical information, all of which is designed to tell a cohesive and persuasive story about the applicant.

 

The Common Application Inclusions

  • GPA
  • Transcripts
  • Specific College Info
  • Supplemental Essays/Questions
  • Financial Aid
  • Class Rank
  • Test Scores and Dates
  • Application Deadlines
  • Portfolio/Video
  • Scholarships
  • Courses
  • Recommendations
  • Activities
  • Personal Info
  • Application Dashboard
  • Grades
  • Academic Honors
  • Personal Essay
  • Family Info
  • Other Information

 

Common App Beyond the Basics

While the Common App does collect objective data, in the hands of NC Global experts it becomes a sales tool for your college candidacy. That is because there is far more to the Common App than meets the eye! Other than information from interviewers and data collected from other sources, colleges rely on the Common App to provide their admission committees with information needed to make appropriate decisions about their incoming class. How the information in your Common App is structured, detailed, and described can be a determining factor in how you are perceived and whether or not you are accepted.

Colleges Not on the Common App

A few well-known colleges such as MIT, Georgetown, University of California (all nine campuses), Penn State, Rutgers, and Virginia Tech do not use the Common App. Each of these colleges uses its own application. One single application is used to apply to any or all the nine campuses in the University of California system.

Applications for non Common App institutions are fundamentally no different from the common application, though the questions they ask tend to be more specifically aligned to the individual college.

 

A PROACTIVE PLAN FOR YOUR CHILD'S FUTURE

THE 50-POINT PLAN

COLLEGE ADMISSIONS

PRIVATE SCHOOL ADMISSION

GRADE-BASED PLANS

TEST PREP & TUTORING

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS